Our Emblem

The Knights of Columbus Emblem

The Columbian coat of arms consists solely of straight lines and angles, symbolizing the determination, tenacity, firmness and courage that the Order's founders had to demonstrate in the face of difficulties to surmount, problems to solve to defend their faith and their rights in a milieu ill-suited to the growth of their Movement.

Figures and Symbols:

The main symbol is the cross, formed in the background behind the shield from the four triangle.  This Formée cross is an artistic representation of the cross of Christ. This represents the Catholic identity of the Order.

The Columbian Coat of Arms contains four symbolic elements: the sword, the anchor, the battle axe, and the bundle, recalling the noble and illustrious deeds of the Order's founders.

The sword symbolizes honor, distinction, bravery and courage.

The anchor, an instrument designed to hold a ship in place, represents that which attaches, stops, consolidates and stabilizes. The anchor also represent Christopher Columbus, patron of the order, whose ships anchored in the New World. 

The battle axe, placed on the shield, symbolizes action taken to overcome obstacles or ambushes on the road to accomplishing one's objectives.

The bundle, or fasces was carried before magistrates as an emblem of authority. The Order uses it as "symbolic of authority which must exist in any tightly-bonded and efficiently operating organization."  It represents the solid grouping of people come together to realize a common ideal under the guidance of a recognized leader. It symbolizes teamwork, the strength inherent in unity and fraternity.

The helmet, placed on the upper part of the Coat of Arms represents rank or degree of nobility. On the coat of arms of a warrior it is the noblest and principal ornament.

The little white triangle, above the helmet and pointing upward, symbolizes the flame which lights and guides.

The Colors:

The blue (azure), represents the sky, that is, God who watches over the world. It is the symbol of hope, peace, and confidence.

The white (silver) is innocence, frankness and purity of intention.

The yellow (gold) denotes indestructible goods, the richness that comes with hard work.

The red symbolizes giving of one's self, courage, valor and heroism in the fight for one's faith, one's language and one's rights.
The Fourth Degree Emblem

The Fourth Degree emblem is made up of three distinct symbols which represent the three persons of the Holy Trinity.

Figures and Symbols:

The cross represents God the Son, redeemer of all men.

The globe represents God the Father, creator of the universe and all things visible and invisible.

The Dove represents God the Holy Spirit, sanctifier of the world, breath of life and inspiration for all men.

These three symbols remind the Knights that they have the faith and belief in the Trinity.


Red stands for courage, valor and giving of one's self.
Blue (azure) symbolic of innocence.
White (silver) is the symbol of integrity.

Yellow (gold) is intended as the symbol for the riches acquired through hard work.

The colors emphasize the basic principle of the Fourth Degree: PATRIOTISM.
​Those Knights in the local Fourth Degree Council are part of the Divine Mercy Council 3082.  This special degree is only open to those Knights who have completed the first three degrees.  Dedicated in a special way to develop the virtue of patriotism, the Fourth Degree challenges men to lead in a unique way. 

For more information about the Divine Mercy Council, contact:

Herb Stacer at [email protected]